Premiere: Aaran D – Planet Mars [Cuttin’ Headz]

Boogeyman is a brand new sub label from The Martinez Brothers’s legendary Cuttin’ Headz.

The brainchild of Jesse Calosso, who also takes the lead with A&R, kicks off with a fantastic compilation showcasing the sound and talent the label will deal in.

Jaden Thompson, Aaron D, Jean Pierre, Joey Daniel, and The Martinez Brothers themselves all feature.

Planet Mars from Aaran D opens with chunky house drums and a cool sense of funk from the lithe synths. AJ Christou & Gabriel Torres link for the kicking Raw Life, with its warped synths and kinetic drums pumping the party, then UK stalwarts Alex Arnout & Matt Tolfrey come together for Back to Flat, which is a high speed and silky deep house cut. Blas Cordero impresses with his tightly woven deep techno banger ‘Do It’ while Jaden Thompson layers in some heartfelt vocals to the irresistible drum programming on his ‘Closer.’

Elsewhere Jean Pierre’s ‘Da Heights’ is a tech funk workout with twisted pads and skewed bass that has a futuristic vibe and Calosso himself helps define the collection with Disc-Hoe, a lively cut with ramshackle drums and vocal stabs bringing the steaminess.

Closing things out is Joey Daniel with another of his house masterclasses, then The Martinez Brothers step up with a hard hitting groove that has robust drums and drilling bass which is all about blowing up the floor. Last of all, Vic Damone Jnr offers a new school take on the Chicago sound with raw claps, ghetto vocals and bumping bass that is truly electric.

This is a fantastic first release from this sure to be vital label.

Buy on Beatport: